Part 1 – I Miss You!

As most Christians, Easter is a time of year that I spend time reflecting on what Christ did for me personally. How can we not take stock in our lives as we read scripture like, John 3:16 – “For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son, that whoever believes in Him should not perish but have everlasting life.” Yes I know not really the most common verse when talking about the Crucifixion, but it is the one I think about. This verse reminds me that even if I forget Him, He will not forget me, because what God has given up for me is His beloved Son.

Which brings me to the first part of the story I want to tell you. Years ago I got angry with God and turned my back on Him and walked away from Him and the church. I had my reasons. (They will be part of another tale for another day.) My husband and I were both working at good jobs in professional fields, making a fair amount of money. Now after some hard times after I had our youngest child. We now had four young children, not all living with us all the time. You know how it is with this day and age of divorces and custody. Makes it hard to be a family, all the going back and forth.

So where are we so far? I am mad at God, we have jobs now, we have his, mine, and ours. Oh did I forget to tell you we are “responsible” drug addicts. Yes, I said responsible drug addicts, not the kind that pick at themselves and live on the streets or don’t take care of their kids. We had jobs, we made sure the kids were in school and did there homework. They even made the honor roll. We cooked dinner like normal people and did all the normal things families do, we just did drugs also. We would put the kids to bed then stay up most of the night wired and high. Then have to get wired again in the morning to make it to work, then again at lunch to get through the day. Only to start it all over again. We wouldn’t do this all the time, that is what made us “responsible”.

Yes, I do see how ridiculous that sounds now, but back then it made all kinds of sense.

Now to the point and what this has to do with Easter. In the middle of all this mess God kept tugging on my heart. At first it was just a little nudge ” hey remember Me”. When that got ignored, God became bolder and would poke me. “Hey! You Remember Me!”.  Life continued and as we tried to be a family and do family things, crap just seem to happen to us all the time. I kept telling my husband that ‘God is trying to get our attention, we need to go to church.’ He’s like ‘no way, not me, I’m not going.’ By this time God is no longer just content with a nudge or a poke, it is a out and out knock me up side the head “HEY YOU! REMEMBER ME! I’M YOUR DAD AND I MISS YOU! COME HOME!”

Tune in next time for the rest of the story. Do we make it to Easter or Not?

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

You don't have to agree. Just let me know what you think.

