Part 7 Kind of Left You Hanging?

Hey it’s really cool you keep coming back to hear more of the story. I’m not sure if i will still label them in parts or not, what do you think? Sometimes my blog will be about other things, because now that I puked out the biggest part of the story, there are some other things I would like to write about. So give me some feedback on if you would like them labeled or not.

Okay, so we are having to learn how to be married without the drugs, how to be a family without them; It was hard. The church we started going to was Colton First Baptist Church (Now called Center Point), they had about 700 people going there. It had all kinds of Bible study’s or support groups, something for just about any kind of issue. They even had a Narcotic Anonymous group that met in the basement a couple nights a week. I told Scott that we should go to it. He said, “We didn’t need that stuff, he wouldn’t ever let me fall again.”  I said maybe he didn’t but I would like to check it out, and he didn’t have the power to keep me drug free, I had to do it on my own. So I did go to a few of the meetings, but it wasn’t for me and God was what I needed at the time to keep me clean.

We did sit down and tell some of the kids what we had been doing, and asked forgiveness for the time we had stolen from them. Even if they had no clue that we had been doing drugs, which they didn’t (I know, hard to believe but true) we had not been there 100% as parents.

So as we are walking this new walk, I think that all things should be great. I’m kind of treating God like a genie in a bottle kind of God. Give me three wishes type of thing, I ask You give. I whine you, make it all better. Is that not what the Bible says; Ask and you shall receive. It is in the Bible just look in Luke 11:9 “So I say to you, ask, and it will be given to you; seek, and you will find; and knock and it will be opened to you.” Then in 11:10 “For everyone who asks receives, and he who seeks finds, and to him who knocks it will be opened.” Yes, these words are in the Bible but they are spoken in a parable to give an example of persistence. I can be persistence in asking God for the things that I wanted from Him, but His Word says my heart must be right.

The God I knew as a little girl who protected me from harm, (maybe not to my body but to my spirit), and the God I asked into my heart as a young girl, going to church on Sunday with my Grandmother, then the relationship I fostered as a teenage mother in high school, were all very different relationships with God. I just took from Him or should I say received. I received safety as a child, love and friendship as a youth, comfort as a teenage mom. Now as I have rededicated my life to the One and only Lord and Savior, He wanted more from me than a “Sunday only” relationship. It required some learning. So good thing there was a class for that at church to.

So off to new believers classes we go.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

You don't have to agree. Just let me know what you think.

