When my burdens overwhelm me!

People who know me and my husband look at our lives and wonder how we do all the things that we do? How do we run a business, (each of us putting in at least 60 hours) then Scott’s off to the church to put in another 20 plus a week, then he adds in the School Board, and we both do Suicide Intervention training’s now and then. I have added writing to my list of things that I need to fit in with the supply shopping and paperwork, along with household things that need to be done each week. Boy, I need a nap just thinking about what we do each week!

Yes, we do need a calendar to keep it all straight, because when you add special things like a mini conference with Karl Vaters on his remarkable new book The Grasshopper Myth to our lists it can be overwhelming. His book is about small churches and the way that small churches pastors think. I have to say that in my small church and in my home this book, after the Bible, has been the best read this year. So the mini conference will be a great time and it is only a few hours out of our day.

It did give me a reason to clean the house really good, Karl and one other pastor that is coming with him will be staying with us Thursday night.  I had to laugh; I have been reading Proverbs 31 daily devotional, well they also have freebies on their website, so I was looking around in my spare time( lol ). One of the freebies was how to make house guests feel welcome. Now it had some great ideas, and if you are a “Martha” type you will love it. I on the other hand thought I was doing good to just have put clean sheets on the beds and clean the bathroom. I don’t think I will be leaving out a basket of chocolates and cookies! Sorry guys, got to go to work all week.

God’s word tells me in Matthew 11:28-30 “Come to Me, all you who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest, Take My yoke upon you and learn from Me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For My yoke is easy and My burden is light.”

When you are doing what God has called you to do in your life, it may not always be easy but, it will have its rewards! God is walking with you step by step, we are to learn from Him. He is gentle, He will give us rest for our souls. I personally would not know what to do if I didn’t have something to do all the time. Image

I found this picture and it made me think; this is how I feel sometimes, just so overwhelmed, please not one more thing! But look around, if this group was to come upon someone they would not leave them behind. So if God adds something to your day, praise Him for leading the way.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “When my burdens overwhelm me!

  1. journeyofjoy May 13, 2013 at 11:24 am Reply

    A picture is truly worth more than 1,000 words! and I love the way you ended your post.

    I often find myself meditating on this verse; reminding both me and God that … It is in vain that you rise up early and go late to rest, eating the bread of anxious toil; for he gives to his beloved sleep (Psalm 127:2)

    • Deena Siddle May 14, 2013 at 10:59 am Reply

      Amen, I have to remind myself it is His schedule not mine.

  2. Carrie Lange May 20, 2013 at 5:24 pm Reply

    omg, is that picture for real??? amazing! 🙂

    • Deena Siddle May 20, 2013 at 7:29 pm Reply

      can you believe it! Congrats on the book.

  3. Dreams June 1, 2013 at 9:44 pm Reply

    Praise The Lord. He is so good. He provides everything we could possibly need.

    • Deena Siddle June 2, 2013 at 2:19 pm Reply

      Yes he does, even when we don’t know we need it. He is just cool that way.

You don't have to agree. Just let me know what you think.

