Why Pray? God, do you really hear me?

We are promised that “in the world we will have tribulation; but be of good cheer, I have over come the world.” In Christ we can have peace. Don’t take my word for it! Look it up, it is really there in John 17:33.

Now first what it tells me is one very big word WILL! Not maybe, if, could be, possible, but you WILL HAVE TRIBULATION! Okay what does this mean? Tribulation-distress or suffering, resulting from oppression or persecution; also a trying experience or trial.

So we now know for sure that all the crap,(yes I said crap) that happens in life each day that causes us to pause, these are really a promise from God.

Wow! Bet you never looked at it that way? That fight with your husband last night; or the car wouldn’t start today; maybe you lost your job; got the call from the Doctor with the news – it’s cancer! Whatever it maybe, it is a promise from God’s word, and He said to have Peace! And be of good Cheer?

Stop the train! I want to get off! I don’t understand?

He is not saying that we paint on a fake smile to the world and act like everything is okay. No, what I believe it to mean is He is there with us and cares for our needs; we are not alone during our trials.

When trials hit, what is the first thing we normally do? Call a friend to complain; gripe and whine; run around trying to fix things ourselves? Then only when we are in over our head and can see no other way out do we think to stop and pray. “Oh there is nothing else I can do so I might as well pray”

How that must grieve my Heavenly Father’s heart to hear that from his children. His word tells me to have peace in Him, to be in Him, I have to come to Him, Duh!

Yes, we have a worldly need to whine and to vent, to share our burdens with our friends, to have arms hold us, and shoulders to cry on. Romans 12:15 “Rejoice with those who rejoice, and weep with those who weep.” God understands our human need to share our burdens with each other, but He is also a jealous God and doesn’t want to stand in line for our attention.

Let me give you an example of God knowing what I needed before I even spoke the words to anyone. One day I was feeling unloved, and just emotional. I had not even gotten time to pray about it or even share with my husband how I was feeling. One of our customers comes in with a long stem rose and hands it to me. She is not there to get anything today she just felt she should stop by and give me a rose, then she walked out!.

I just stood there and cried! My husband of course is like, “What is up!” God had just shown up, in my shop and gave me a hug and told me I had value! I was important to Him! He knew how I was feeling and without even speaking the words He provided for my need that day.

God is a jealous God; He like any parent, He wants to hear from His children. If He only hears from you when you are in need, you will always be in need. So you might want to remember to call home in the good times too. He hears even the groans of our heart.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Why Pray? God, do you really hear me?

  1. Phyllis Simmons May 16, 2013 at 8:03 pm Reply

    Yes and often you get a card thru the mail from a friend with just a sweet thought and virtual hug. Means so much, so when God lays someone on your heart, call, send card ot bring a rose, it means God is calling.

  2. lessonsbyheart May 17, 2013 at 5:37 pm Reply

    Ooh, good point. If He only hears from us when we need something…
    hmm…go figure!
    \o/

You don't have to agree. Just let me know what you think.

