A Son Comes Home!

The very child that I fought to keep as a seventeen year old high school junior; I had to give up to the Air Force when he was only seventeen, I signed the papers that let him join early, before his eighteenth birthday. It was what he wanted to do with his life; he was very bright, with any possibility within his reach. All he had to do was work for it.

I would miss his 18th birthday, but this was his dream. He did very well; Honor Flight, Honor Grad, Top Marks, a bright start to his military career. We got to be there for his graduation, it made missing his birthday all worth it. I was so proud. Off to school he goes for his training; he is in his prime, doing top grades, set to finish and get his first base assignment, and a trip home

But he hits a snag! I am on my way to the airport to pick him up; he has not been home in almost a year, I get a call from his Dad telling me that, “He won’t be there, Come Home!”

My heart breaks! I don’t know if I can explain in words the physical bond a teen Mother has with the child that she grew up with, her son! The day we put him on the plane to the Air Force, I got physically ill, my husband had to pull the car over so I could throw up. 

So now, to be told that he won’t be there, and he is not coming home at all…he is on hold by the Air Force until further notice.

I called everyone I could! Did you know that the Air Force doesn’t really care that you are someones mom and have not seen them, and miss them?

Why wont they let him come home? They told me to, “Ask my Airman!” Well, my Airman was not telling his Mom much. 

 It was during this time that I had to hold tight to God’s promise in Proverbs 22:6:

“Train up a child in the way he should go, And when he is old he will he not depart from it.”

This has been a verse that I had to hide in my heart as I hid in my closet and cried. I prayed and learned that God does not have Grand-kids, that this is God’s child first and foremost

Our Son did come home after a time; not the same though, it took years for God to answer my prayer. Yesterday our Son chose to get baptized again; to renew his walk with the Lord, It makes my heart sing with joy!

His walk may not look like my walk. He doesn’t always make it to church on time or at all. But he does always make it to bible study with one of the best guys on this earth that I would have him learn from, each and every other Tuesday night. 

God is faithful to bring his children home, don’t give up!

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “A Son Comes Home!

  1. Diane Carr May 20, 2013 at 9:13 pm Reply

    The Lord is so good to us…Steven is an amazing young man! Gary and Steven share a personal “time” with God on a regular basis which is a blessing to them both… Gary looks forward to thier bi-weekly study.They both have a tenacity to learn “more” more of the Lord. I love them both…as well as Steven’s family. God’s richest blessings to you all!

    • Deena Siddle May 21, 2013 at 1:28 pm Reply

      We are all blessed to have each other in our lives. I thank the Lord for you both.

  2. lessonsbyheart May 21, 2013 at 12:24 pm Reply

    Praise Him for His faithfulness! Go on, do the dance – you know you want to! 😉
    \o/

You don't have to agree. Just let me know what you think.

