What’s In Your Toolbox?

A few months ago I finally, after eighteen years of ignoring God’s call in my life to write, gave in and started my public writing career. I put out my “shingle” as they would say in days gone by.

Well you would think that on that little shingle that said, “Want to be writer”, I had listed many new careers or abilities because since then I have been given the opportunity to do so much more than write, sometimes even by my choice. I have been more bold to reach out to someone, instead of just walking on by.

Now don’t get me wrong, I am not saying that any of this is a bad thing, just not what I thought it was going to be about. I thought I would set up my little writing room to hide from all the world and write, I even told my honey, “You may have to fix a dinner or two”, and that God and I would sit down and write a book.

Instead life is happening around me and God is placing people in need of help or advice in my path and they want to talk to me. Why are you asking me? Then I do a quick ‘shot-gun’ prayer, “Okay God you’re on! What do we have in our tool box to help, because I can’t do this on my own?”

Which is what it is really all about, just being available to be used by God. It is a cool ride, so put out a new shingle if that is what God is telling you to do. You’ll be glad that you did.

See you next week, me and my honey are getting away for a few days to hide. To all you fathers out there, have a great Father’s Day, give your kids a big hug and tell them you love them because that is what will last a lifetime.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “What’s In Your Toolbox?

  1. journeyofjoy June 18, 2013 at 7:08 am Reply

    Love the “tool-box” concept Deena!

    • Deena Siddle June 18, 2013 at 7:17 am Reply

      Thank you, I need many tools to do my different jobs so I needed something bigger than a purse.

You don't have to agree. Just let me know what you think.

