The love of a father

I have not had good examples here on earth of fatherly love by my own father. He was a alcoholic and an abusive man who didn’t have much use for women, let alone  a daughter who was chubby.

He felt it was his job in life to point out what my faults were; I had many in his eyes. Should I disagree with him; then it just got physically abusive.

The only other father figure I had I’ve already told you about in my blog; My Mom was a Bad Mom, But I Loved her! Check it out, or not, just know he was not a prize either.

When I came back to Christ it was hard for me to even think about God as a Father really. All I had ever know was pain. What the world said is wrong was what I received from my earthy fathers. So over time I had to learn how to accept God as the perfect Father that does not mean harm for me, and will love me and keep me in His perfect will. I do understand that His will is not always ‘peaches and cream’.

Yesterday I got to see an earthly example of a father that loves his daughter and is willing to step out of his box for her, and do anything for his little girl. It made me laugh and it made me cry. This father stepped so far out of his comfort zone for his daughter…it was the world for her. It was her wedding day and even though it will be a day that she will never forget, this moment will be a memory that many will remember for a lifetime.Image

What was it you ask? It was their father and daughter dance. “Oh, that’s nice”, you may be thinking. No, this was so much more! It started out like any father and daughter dance with them dancing to “I loved her first”. It was very sweet, but wait, what is this? YMCA, disco, Gangnam and several other styles, then back to “I loved her first”. What made this so great is to know this Dad was so outside of who he is, and he did a bang up job at each dance style! You just know he practiced with his little girl to make this her moment on her day. I will remember it always, it was awesome Ron!

God has been good to me, even though the fathers I had growing up were not great, or even good, I have been given a second chance with a father-in-law that I get to call Dad. I haven’t always deserved his care, but he has been there for me when I needed him. He is not warm and fuzzy, but I know he really loves me.

We can’t always find what we need in the men in our worlds, to be the fathers or husbands that God has called them to be, but if we look to God to fill the gap and pray the the men in our lives, God can change them the be Great Godly Men who follow God and lead their families. And also raise Daughters that know they are loved and cared for.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “The love of a father

  1. Carrie Lange June 24, 2013 at 7:04 am Reply

    I get jealous when I see great dads like that. I know I shouldn’t but I can’t help it. And I think I may feel the same way about my mom… I’m caring for her now at my home and she’s a lot of work, and sometimes I wonder why I love her so much, why I work so hard to care for her, when she never really … loved me very much… I know I sound horrible. She was never abusive, but I never felt much of anything from her at all. My feeling about my parents are all jumbled up and confusing, and I guess all I know is my duty to them, good or bad, they were my parents and gave me life.

    • Deena Siddle June 24, 2013 at 8:39 am Reply

      I so understand Carrie, when you grow up not having that kind of love it is something that you long for and see in others. The only thing that I have the power to do is to be that kind of Mom for my daughters and son. It sounds like you are that kind of daughter for your Mom even if she has not been the best parent for you. You will be blessed for it even if you don’t always do it with a smile in your heart.

      • Carrie Lange July 6, 2013 at 7:11 am

        thank you, Deens, your words are give me encouragement! 🙂

      • Deena Siddle July 6, 2013 at 7:42 am

        I am glad to encourage you Carrie

You don't have to agree. Just let me know what you think.

