Wives Submit to your Husbands

Wait, before you delete me and unfollow, me hear me out!  Once I really understood this verse and what it meant to my marriage it was quiet freeing. It released me to just be the wife, not the one in charge of everything. Okay, let me explain myself.

Let’s start with what God’s Word says, “Wives, submit yourselves to your own husbands, as to the Lord.” Eph. 5:22, then jump down to verse 25, “Husbands, love your wives, even as Christ also loved the church and gave himself for it;”

The first thing I would like to point out that the world gets wrong, and even in some church’s. I, as a wife, am called to submit to my husband and only my husband, not all of man kind. Some where along the way this got twisted all up and women are now to submit to all men everywhere. Ladies, I looked it up, that is not what the Word on God said for me to do. 

Now we are to submit to our husband as if to the Lord, what does that mean? Would the Lord ask you to do something that was illegal? “NO” He would not! So if your husband is asking you to do something that is illegal then you don’t have to submit to him. You are still being a good and godly wife to say “NO.”

But what if it is just something you are uncomfortable doing say in the bed room. Then we refer to verse 25, he is to love us as Christ, and have understanding that we are uncomfortable. But ladies if you don’t stand up for yourselves, how will he know how you are feeling.

Being submissive does not mean that you don’t get to have a say. You can still talk about what goes on and share your feelings on a subject, he just gets the final say. And, the final blame, that is in God’s Word also.

One last thing and this is something that I learned the hard way; you can’t submit to a husband you never let be in charge in the first place. Yes, I am a strong woman, and at times that is a good thing. Life has given my some pretty hard knocks and I have had to take care of myself. God has also blessed me with a wonderful husband that, in the beginning, we had a rough road. God has taught me to trust him and to give up the lead as it should be. The more I submit to my husband, the more he follows Gods lead and is the head of our home, it is the way God plans it, so try it, what have you got to lose?

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Wives Submit to your Husbands

  1. Alynia July 12, 2013 at 3:46 am Reply

    So true! I do submit, but then, he thinks that also means asking my opinion of things – since me taking charge could help us forward, it sometimes is nessecary for him too, and I submit through that. Besides, all other men don’t get my submission, period.

    • Deena Siddle July 12, 2013 at 6:15 pm Reply

      It is a wise and Godly man that knows when he is not the best man for the job and asks his wife to do it. As his help mate we sometimes help best by being in charge as long as he is not sitting on his behind drinking a cold one. LOL. You know what I mean.

You don't have to agree. Just let me know what you think.

