Pack early because; stickers won’t cover much!

“And on the seventh day God ended His work which He had done, and He rested from all His work. Then God blessed the seventh day and sanctified it, because in it He rested from all His work which God had created and made.” Genesis 2: 2-3

Scott and I Just got to attend a pastor’s retreat at Hume Lake Christian camp for the first time. Scott has been wanting to go for years, but with owning the coffee house we have never been able to afford the employee hours and take the four days off. Since the sale of the shop, this was the year we would finally get to go. In all honesty I was not really looking forward to it.

I normally am packed and ready to go days ahead of the departing day but I just couldn’t get into it.

I could see the need to get away when we were working all the time, but now we have just about every day off, why do we need to spend the money to go away to rest?

I get that Hume is a beautiful place and the people are great, but my heart was just not into going. As a good wife does, you sometimes go when you don’t understand why your husband needs to.

We get there and it is nice and cool, it is great to get out of the heat. We had signed up late so the room we got was a simple room, dorm style, with a bathroom down the hall. You may not know this about me but, I get up a lot at night to pee, so the bathroom down the hall was not going over real well with me, but I love my man so I smile, we will make the best of this.

Whenever we stay some place for a few days we always unpack. We like to feel at home. In my unpacking I happened to notice that there is something missing….no this could not be they have to be here somewhere? Especially with the bath room down the hall…you guessed it my pj’s were nowhere in sight. I had forgotten to pack pj’s. Normally my husband would be quite happy about this mishap!

With the bathroom down the hall that now means getting dressed many times each night. We did look at the gift shop but they don’t sell pj’s! Plenty of hats, and stickers but I think at a pastor’s retreat I needed to cover more.

phone pics trees 205

I’m really glad that I did go. It didn’t have anything to do with rest as far as sleep or just not working, it was about being fed. Having your spirit fed for a time as God speaks to your heart and you can hear Him if you are listening.

At Hume your cell phone will not work. No email; facebook; tweets; or texts to get back to, which can be a good thing. There are no distractions from your time with your spouse. You make new friends who are all in the same boat you are, with the same struggles you face each day. It also can lead to an on slot of messages as you come off the mountain back into cell range. Not so much fun when you find out one of your sweet friends has gone home to the Lord.

If you truly let God speak to you and open your heart to hear what He would say, you can find great rest in times like this. I am not saying that it has to be at Hume, you can have a time a rest in the Lord right in your own home. It can be each day, not just once a year at a pastor’s retreat.

The most important thing is to make the time to be with God. Take the time to rest and to enjoy. As pastor’s, God doesn’t expect you to be on call 24/7, that is His job. If you try to do His job you will end up burned out with nothing to give anyone.

So take the time to turn off your cell phone. Unplug from the world and rest in the Lord. Let Him renew your spirit so you can then feed His sheep when they need you.

What kind of things help renew your spirit? I would like to see some of your ideas.

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

You don't have to agree. Just let me know what you think.

