It shouldn’t hurt to be a kid!

Image

Here is a random story from my childhood as to why it took me until I was in my thirties to eat Chinese food because of this fateful night. It started out like many nights; my Mom was working late, so we had to have dinner with my cousins who babysat from time to time. They had planned on having take-out Chinese food. I’m four and I am a picky eater. Hey, what four year old isn’t? I sit there picking at my plate and eat very little. I’m told, “You can’t get down until you clean your plate!” Something about starving kids somewhere, hard earned money, and something blab blab.

Everyone else is done, I’m still sitting there. I believe they call it ‘strong willed child’ hard headed. Call it what you will, I was not going to eat that rice. Yet my cousin was not going to let me get up either. I cried. She yelled we were at a stand off. I just prayed that my mom would get there and take me home.

The dishes are all done and I am still sitting at the table and will not eat my rice. My cousin’s face is red as she picks up the plate; I think to myself okay I win I don’t have to eat it. But instead of walking away, she grabs the back of my head and a handful of hair as she rubs the plate of rice in my face, smashing it into my nose and ears.

She finally let go and tells me to clean the mess I made up before my mom gets there. I crawled on the floor with a rag trying to wipe it all up, crying quietly as she stood there watching to make sure I got each grain of rice. It’s no wonder it took me so long to ever eat rice.

What brings a person to this point? That they would scar a child for life over a plate of food, was it worth it? Please stop and walk away before you take out your anger on a child, yes they can push your buttons at times, but it should not hurt to be a kid.

Tagged: , , ,

5 thoughts on “It shouldn’t hurt to be a kid!

  1. White Pearl October 12, 2013 at 1:17 pm Reply

    Such an amazing story !

    • Deena Siddle October 12, 2013 at 1:26 pm Reply

      Thank you, for reading my hope is it will help someone to stop and think.

      • White Pearl October 12, 2013 at 1:27 pm

        It already did 🙂 Love xx

  2. Alynia October 14, 2013 at 6:09 am Reply

    *shudders* amazing, that people can be so cruel to children. I hope she learned to behave afterwards.

    • Deena Siddle October 14, 2013 at 6:32 am Reply

      I am now 49 in that day and age it was okay to treat your kids that way. No one did anything about it. My mom did nothing about it.

You don't have to agree. Just let me know what you think.

