This is My 100th blog it is Un-Belize-able!

Image

As most of you know my honey and I just came back from our very first true vacation ever. We spent eight days in – you guessed it – Belize.

I have to say (and I did in the post before I left), It is just NOT in my DNA! I was not sure this was going to be so great; four planes to get to San Pedro town on Ambergris Caye, one of the islands in Belize. I have to say, we had a great time. So, for my 100th post, I am going tell you about my un-Belize-able vacation.Image

One of the first great things that happened was in San Francisco the flight to Houston was over sold! You say, “How can that be a great thing?” Well see, we were going to have a 7 hour layover in Houston when we got there in the morning. Ugh!

So as we are sitting there waiting to board this over sold flight, they ask if anyone is willing to give up their seats for $300 bucks each on a future flight over the next year, plus they will put us up in the Crown Plaza for the night (only a 3 hour nap really) and get us on a new flight at 6 am in the morning, and even gave us food vouchers.

Sweet! Not having to pull an Amazing Race deal in Huston, sleeping on the floor after traveling all night, sign my up! I know I will be traveling later this year to go to She Specks and now my plane ticket is paid for. We were also able to bless someone at home with a ticket to have their son fly home for Christmas, so what a cool way to start the trip.

We land in Belize and get off the plane and walk into an oven, okay maybe not an oven more like a shower. It is humid.  We come Imagefrom a very dry area of California, so even though it is only 85 degrees the humidity is 90% – I started to melt. Then they showed me to the 6 person plane that would fly us the last leg of our trip to San Pedro; I was ready to go home.

But I did it! I have to say I am proud of myself for someone, just a few short months ago, had a melt down in LAX over flying! I did good and the view – oh, was so beautiful! I didn’t have time to think about how this small thing could fall out of the air any minute.

We stayed at the Sunbreeze hotel a great place to stay! Very friendly staff, clean, just a great Imageplace to stay, plus the Blue Water Grill is right there on site. They have great food and drinks for anytime of day. They also have a dive shop, we didn’t use it, but saw a lot of people going and coming.

Right next door is one of our favorite places in all of San Pedro BC’s. Right around the corner on the beach side from the Blue Water Grill, this is where the locals hang out. It’s owned by Charlene, a hard working lady who will always have a smile for you, and her right hand man Ishmael. Ishmael is a great young man, he will take good care of you, BC’s is just a small place but don’t let that fool you, the food is great, and the service is the best. We made great friends there and look forward to staying in touch.Image

My favorite activity in Belize has to be Snuba! Yes I spelled it right, not scuba I mean snuba. We did this with Discovery Expeditions they are the only ones in San Pedro that have snuba. What is snuba you ask?

Well it is better than snorkel and not as hard as scuba. You get to breath through a hose running to a tank that floats in a raft above you. So unlike snorkeling, you get to dive about 20 feet to the ocean floor and swim with the fish and sea turtles. Oscar, our guide, was great and made sure we were safe and kept me from swimming right over a Moray eel that I didn’t see; scary.  Then I got to pet a shark in shark ally, and swim with sting rays. It was a great day! If you are in Belize you have to do this.  I would love to show you some pictures but our underwater camera tanked on use.

We ate at so many great places while there; from the hard working lady with only a cart on the corner; to the open vendor in the town square, you could get breakfast for a buck or you could pay $100 for one of the best sea food dinners in town. The thing that made a place special for us were the people who worked there, not really the food they served! One of those places for us is Licks Beachside café. Owned by a Canadian transplant, at first glance you may not think much of the place just a small porch to sit and a couple of dogs lying around. Don’t let that fool you, there is seating upstairs with an amazing view. The dogs, Patch and Spot are always willing to take you for a walk if you are missing your four legged friends back home.

Image  We had breakfast and lunch at Licks – good food at great prices plus friendly people. Oh and if you want to sit in the sun on a beach and hear it is -6 in Canada this is the place. Wow that is cold.

I know this has been a long one, but for my 100th post, and the fact I have never been out of the county; I now have a passport with a stamp on it (to some place other then Mexico)! I wore a bathing suit every day and felt good about myself (growth moment)! Just laying around a pool in the sun or in a hammock reading a good book with my honey by my side.  I didn’t think I would enjoy a tropical vacation, but I was wrong! I had a blast because I was with the love of my life! And that was what made this the best vacation every –  simply un-belize-able.Image

Oh, I forgot to tell you about Chicken Drop Bingo on Thursday’s nights at Wahoo’s Lounge check out the link it was great fun, you just have to do it.

Thank you for hanging around for my journey and hope you stay to see what God will use me to say next time – God bless.

Tagged: , , , ,

4 thoughts on “This is My 100th blog it is Un-Belize-able!

  1. Terrie Coleman December 4, 2013 at 5:47 pm Reply

    Congratulations, Deena, on your 100th post! And may I say, “You better Belize it!” and “Ya da fa we Belize” (I think that means something like, “we are for Belize”). Years ago, when I was in my mid-twenties, I spent almost a year in Belize (and Guatemala and El Salvador) doing missions. Did you happen to see my heart while you were there? I left a part of it there. I didn’t get to see the cayes, the pretty parts, but someday. Glad to hear you enjoyed it. I love the people and the land and the food. Blessings to you.

    • Deena Siddle December 4, 2013 at 6:44 pm Reply

      I did see your heart because the people are so easy to love.

  2. kayesims December 5, 2013 at 4:32 am Reply

    I love your honest take on the ups and downs of travel. Your perspective is helpful to me as I embark on some exciting (scary!) ventures.

    • Deena Siddle December 5, 2013 at 10:10 am Reply

      Thank you, I will pray that all goes well for you and you have a blessed time.

You don't have to agree. Just let me know what you think.

